Link to move in page

Global navigation
Global navigation end
From here to text


Chairperson, Diet Affairs Committee, Liberal Democratic Party
Member, House of Representatives (HR)
Constituency: Kagoshima Prefecture 4th electoral district; Elected 6 times


  April 8, 1945


1965 Graduated from Nisshin High School, Kagoshima


1975 Elected as Member of Kagoshima City Council for the first time
1982 Chairperson of the Kagoshima City Council
1998 Elected to the House of Councillors (HC) (from Kagoshima prefecture)
2001 Director, Standing Committee on Rules and Administration, HC
2002 Parliamentary Vice Minister for Finance
2003 Elected as Member of the House of Representatives (thereafter reelected in five consecutive elections)
2007 State Minister of Finance
2008 Member, Special Committee on Disasters, HR
2009 Deputy Chairperson, Policy Research Council, LDP
Acting Chairperson, Research Commission on Trade in Agricultural, Forestry and Fishing Products, LDP
2010 Director-General, Treasury Bureau, LDP
2015 Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
2016 Executive Acting Chairperson, Policy Research Council, LDP
Deputy Chairperson, Research Commission on the Tax System, LDP
2017 Chairperson, Diet Affairs Committee, LDP
The text ends here
Local navigation

Back to Top