Link to move in page

Global navigation
Global navigation end
From here to text


President, Liberal Democratic Party
Member, House of Representatives
(Hiroshima Prefecture, 1st electoral district; Elected ten times)


  July 29, 1957


1982 Graduated from the School of Law, Waseda University


1982 Joined Long-Term Credit Bank of Japan, Ltd.
1987 Secretary to a member of the House of Representatives
1993 Elected to the House of Representatives for the first time
1997 Director, Youth Division, LDP
1999 Parliamentary Vice-Minister for Construction
2000 Director, Commerce and Industry Division, LDP
2001 Senior Vice-Minister for Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
Director-General, Treasury Bureau, LDP
2005 Chairman, Committee on Health, Labour and Welfare, House of Representatives
2007 Minister of State for Special Missions (Okinawa and Northern Territories Affairs, Quality-of-Life Policy, Science and Technology Policy, and Regulatory Reform)
2008 Minister for Consumer Affairs
Minister for Space Policy
Director, Interest Group Policy Division, Party Organization and Campaign Headquarters, LDP
Chairman, Research Commission on Consumer Issues, LDP
2011 Chairman, Diet Affairs Committee, LDP
2012 Minister for Foreign Affairs
2017 Minister for Foreign Affairs/Minister of Defense
Chairman, Policy Research Council, LDP
2021 President, LDP
Prime Minister
The text ends here
Local navigation

Back to Top